top of page

Erica McGraw

Good Friday morning, everyone! It has been quite the long week over here in North Carolina, but we are looking forward to a relaxing weekend. I hope you are, as well.

In the Author Spotlight today, I am featuring a special lady, Erica McGraw. I met her many months ago, while sending out feelers for possible interviews. I was immediately captured by her powerful longing to serve the Lord, and His people.

According to her website, Ms. McGraw has achieved a Bachelor’s Degree in Information and Records Management from the University of North Dakota and a Master of Arts Degree in Human Resource Management from Webster University. In September 2016, she launched Kingdom News Magazine (renamed Kingdom News Today in December 2017) which is distributed both digitally and in print formats. Read her interview below to find out more about her, her ministry, and her magazine.

AJ: Good morning, Erica. I'm so happy to have you featured in the Author Spotlight today. First of all, can you Tell us a little about yourself and your background that led you to become a writer?

EMG: I can’t pinpoint one specific event in my life that pushed me to become a writer. While in college, I had difficulties in my Business Writing class because I was too detailed. In 2007, I was in a support group that assigned us to write letters to various people and the facilitator of the seminar said, “Wow, Erica you should write a book.” The seed was planted then, but it took 10 years for it to come forth.

AJ: How many books have you written?

EMG: As of right now I have only written one book which was launched in July 2017. The title of my book is The Christian Journey. It is a 21-Day Devotional Book that discusses various topics that one may or will face in their journey with Christ, but the unique thing about these things is that they all start with the letter “C”.

AJ: In what genre would you classify your works?

EMG: Inspirational and encouragement.

AJ: Can you tell us about any of your current projects?

EMG: In May 2016, the Lord gave me an assignment to launch a magazine. The name of this magazine is Kingdom News Today. We have successfully launched 7 editions, plus a special Author’s Edition. In June 2017 the 8th edition came out. I completely enjoy the magazine. For the 2018 year, the topics revolve around Dispelling Darkness. In the March 2018 edition, we started this series speaking of the Seducing Spirit and in the June issue we are going to speak on the Spirit of Abuse. Also topics in this series include Human Trafficking.

I do have two more books in my spirit to write; one is going to also be called The Christian Journey and it will have a subtitle, then the second one will be a shorter book speaking about crying out the God and developing a closer relationship with Him. I truly pray that it will not take me another 10 years to produce these next two book.

AJ: Do you see writing as a career? Or, is this just a hobby?

EMG: I don’t really see it as a career nor a hobby, but as a voice. I am moving as the Lord instructs me.

AJ: Is there one event in your life that led you in the direction of writing for your genre?

EMG: Salvation, I love the Lord and I desire for others to learn about His greatness and the benefits that come with a life submitted and committed to the Father in Heaven.

AJ: Who, or what, inspires your writing?

EMG: Life inspires me. We go through so many things in life, but that just means there are so many lessons to be learned. We have to keep the presence of the Holy Spirit with us and be obedient to His instruction. Things aren’t always going to be great, but there is always a great lesson to learn. Allow the joy of the Lord to be your strength and He will direct your path.

AJ: What did you find most useful in learning to write? What was least useful or most destructive?

EMG: Don’t write from an aspect of pain, write with an intent to teach. Show the glory to each and every story.

AJ: How has your life changed since you've become a published author?

EMG: So many have reached out to me asking what it took. I was able to share that it took me three years to actually write the book and then another full year to get it published. As I was writing it and even through the editing and publishing process, I had to deal with the inner parts of me. As I mentioned earlier, writing gives me a voice; but I had to fight the enemy who was telling me, “People don’t want to hear what you have to say,” or “you don’t have anything good to say.” So even after finishing The Christian Journey, I was in a battle to not get stuck, but to move forward as the Lord told me to. So, as people reach out to me, I share my process.

AJ: How can readers discover more about you?

EMG:

If you'd like to find or follow Erica on any of her social media, or learn more about her magazine, click on one of the pictures or links above.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Blogger Social Icon
  • Flickr Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Yelp Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page