top of page

Lory La Selva Paduano- An Interview

As most of you know, I am an Indie author. I would love to have an agent and a publisher some day, but until that day comes, I am simply perfecting my craft.

If you've been reading my blogs lately, you'll know that I love to interview other authors and learn all that I can from them. I have interviewed Tracie Peterson and Irene Hannon so far, and there are more to come. (wink, wink)

However, I thought, since I am an Indie author, it would also be beneficial for me to interview other Indie authors as well. So, I sent out a message to all of the authors in one of my Facebook groups and my inbox was flooded with responses. The following interview is the first post of many Indie interviews that I have been blessed to be a part of.

Lory La Selva Paduano agreed to be interviewed and I was thrilled to hear her responses to my questions. Here's what she had to say...

Me: What is your goal or mission as a writer?

LLSP: My goal and mission as a writer is to bring by books to the silver screen. It wasn't always that way, but when fans started demanding they be made into a movie, I thought long and hard about it, and ventured into the world of Indie film making a little, and I liked what I learned in the process. Of course many authors dream of this, it's not uncommon, but very few make it and I don't want to be in that percentage, if I can help it. I want the world to read my stories because they are that much more than what people perceive them to be!

Me: What or who inspires you to write?

LLSP: Inspiration comes from an object really, to me, or a case scenario where I have nothing but my own thoughts or opinions to add to the mix. Many people inspire me to shape the charismatic or troubled, witty etc., characters I write about. There's a burning flame within me at times, that just has to go write, and it was probably due to very little, or a lot that's around me. There's no real way to answer that, being someone who loves life, and is curious and loving of all things that breathe and walk, it is sometimes hard to make that distinction or to classify it really.

Me: What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What has been the best compliment?

LLSP: The toughest criticisms for me, was being told "I can't do it that way" or "It's not done that way", of course this being negative critiquing, because it came from someone who does the same line of work as I do, knowing full well, we all have our own style, from sheer rawness to the text book rules, and somewhere in between. Constructive criticism, came from those who cared a little more but were not exactly full supporters to any of may causes.

My best compliments have had to have come from my readers and my husband, whom I adore immensely, who is a tough contender and hard to please, naturally that was like a blissful accolade. As I mentioned above, many want to see my books made into movies, they talk to me directly on social media, they love the unique and intriguing stories I deliver, one even went as far as as saying "That mind! It is creative beyond compare, and I have seen it all at my age!"

Me: Do you find it difficult to get reviews from readers? If so, how do you work around that?

LLSP: Indie authors always need reviews! Its so difficult to have people even share our posts! They scroll by it like yesterdays news paper, and we constantly ask for help. Its a normal process, I've become sort of immune to it, where I will now ask without hesitation. "Can you please leave me a review?'' Often, we will seek the help of our P.A's who work wonderfully for us around the clock at times, just to get us the littlest review, gig or other means of promotions and exposure. I would be lost without my team really.

Me: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

LLSP: Technicalities, maybe equipment I know very little of like "Cessna planes!" But... I have to add, it's rewarding because it takes me one step closer to detailing and polishing off my work. Reaction and emotions, is what all writers want to evoke or awaken in our readers.

Me: Do you do all your own editing? What about the covers?

LLSP: I do not do my own editing, we have a team in place for such. It is a tedious and tremendously frustrating job, and our editors are also undervalued at times. So here's a shout out to them! Cheers editors of the world! As far as the book covers go, yes! I absolutely pick an image that I'm drawn to, naturally a world is delivered beyond that point, where I will have long discussions about the picture to the book cover makers about its meaning, origin, and how it will tell a story in itself. Like it or not, a book is always judged by its cover!

Me: How can readers discover more about you and you work?

LLSP: Indies have a hard time reaching the avid reader. For the most part, my readers, read all, but for the ones that don't, and would love to know more about my books, there's only one thing I can say, please share our works on your page! It's vital to our business, sharing is caring and friends do just that! It may not give you much to help one person, but you never know how much that would have meant to them, if they hadn't asked you directly, there is also no need to ask, share our book posts whatever they may be!. Social media is all about being social, sure there's networking involved, I don't deny this part, I do however feel we can do so much better in this area. Please see my page at www.facebook.com/KingCamden. I'm also on Instagram, at http://Instagram.com/lory3702, my twitter handle is https://twitter.com/LoryPaduano. If I don't answer promptly, no worries, rest assured when we do answer, you are either talking directly to my staff, and most often the real deal ME!

Go follow Lory and let her know that we stand behind our Indie authors! -AJ

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Blogger Social Icon
  • Flickr Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Yelp Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page